top of page
Search
  • DRHY

Why Yoga?

Most of us have heard about Yoga in some form or another. But why is it such a big deal in the Western world, or the U.S.? Why is it such a big deal in the Eastern world? The answers to these two questions are drastically different.


The practice of Yoga originated in India, though the time of its inception is up for debate. An ancient text known as Bhagavad Gita has been recognized as the definitive narrative on, and source of, the Yoga tradition. In addition, the Yoga Sūtras of Patañjali, whose identity is notably also up for debate, contain aphorisms for yogic theism, philosophy and asanas. To brief my audience - asanas are the physical postures the Western world has popularized. Interestingly enough, asanas played a very small part of the ancient yoga tradition as a whole. Ashtanga Yoga, also known as the Eight Limbs of Yoga, is defined in this text and outlines the ethics, morals, discipline, study, and practice of Yoga, ultimately leading to Samādhi, which many of us know as enlightenment.



As for the Yoga movement in the Western world, particularly in the U.S., Hatha Yoga emerged supreme over other forms. This school of practice is built from the asanas and pranayama, which is control of the breath, and focuses less on the moral, ethical, and spiritual teachings. B.K.S. Iyengar, in Light on Yoga (1966), describes and illustrates the individual expressions of Yogāsana (asana), among other yogic postures, philosophy and theory. Against Iyengar's intentions, a school of practice emerged from his teachings. His tradition and methods comprise only one of many styles practiced daily throughout the United States. Other popular schools of practice include, but are not limited to, Ashtanga, Vinyasa, Yin, Bikram, and Power Yoga.


Enough with the historical background. The title of this article is "Why Yoga?" So, Why Yoga? The Bhagavad Gita began as a story guiding one through ethical and moral conflict. Eastern religions and traditions use the Yoga practice as a tool for spiritual devotion and an aid to achieve a more peaceful life. Through thousands of years of evolution, Yoga has come to serve the whole world in more ways than can be described in this brief summary. Are you confounded with the vague nature of my answer?


Allow me to enlighten you with my own personal account. When I practice Hatha Yoga, mainly in the form of Vinyasa, I am able to feel my soul move through the fibers of my body. Through my skin. Through the muscle fibers. The connective tissues. Into my joints and bones. My chest cavity and lung space open up and I am able to fully breathe. I feel energy hitching a ride along my breath. Dark flows out and light flows in. My mind takes pause. My body and soul seem to reestablish what it means to be one.


If this sounds crazy, adopt a regular practice. Then tell me for yourself what you feel.

I dare you.


I will leave you with that thought.

DRHY




20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page